The Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech was critized by his manager Carlo Ancelotti for being in the wrong position when Carlos Tevez scored the decisive freekick against his team on Saturday evening, and Cech himself admits that he made a mistake.
Everyone agrees that the freekick was harshly awarded by the referee, but Cech says he should have saved it anyway.
“I don’t want to go into whether it was a free-kick in the first place – I should have saved it,” Cech said.
“It was a very poor free-kick and it finished in the back of the net because I anticipated too much.
“I made a step to the wrong side just before Tevez fired the shot. At that moment it was too late to move to the other side to save the ball. It was a soft goal to concede.
“We didn’t deserve to lose. The most important thing is how he we respond in the upcoming fixtures. Every time you make a step back, you need to make two steps forward.”
Cech will be rested for the game against Apoel Nicosia but will return to the team next weekend as usual.
Ashley Cole voted as Englands third biggest b*****d!
England U21 winger to snub Chelsea offer
Joe Cole vows to fight tooth and nail for place at Chelsea and England
Petr Cech approves of Ancelotti’s rotation policy
Ballack – Man City were strong, but Chelsea will bounce back